Jose Fabella Memorial School (JFMS) formerly known as Welfareville School was formally established on December 3, 1925 by the National Government by virtue of Republic Act No. 815 passed by the Philippine Legislature. The said law provided for the creation of a school in the institution to take care, to educate, and to train orphans, defectives, delinquents, the aged, and the infirm. Responsible for organizing the school were Dr. Jose Fabella, then Commissioner of the office of the Public Welfare Commission, and Mrs. Josefa Martinez, then Chief of the Department of Children Division

The Orphanage School was established in San Pedro, Makati, Metro Manila, which later became the nucleus of JFMS. Later Dr. Jose Fabella purchased 52 hectares of land in San Felipe Neri, Mandaluyong, Metro Manila, which is now the sprawling Welfareville Compound.

For many years, since its operation, the Administration wanted to change the name of Welfareville to Jose Fabella Memorial School, in honor of the Father of Social Work, the First Commissioner of the Office of Public Welfare. This was deemed necessary to remove the stigma attached to the Welfareville School.

The idea came into reality when the proposed act was approved by the Senate and House of Representatives on June 21, 1963 under Republic act No. 3576. Under the Reorganization Plan of the then Department of Social Welfare, the school was placed under the administration and supervision of the Special Subjects and Services Division of the Bureau of Public School and later to the Special Education Unit, National Capital Region.

Under the dispersal program, and in line with the integrated school services program of the government, the different units of JFMS were relocated in the different places within and outside Metro Manila. Most of which are under the Department of Social Welfare and Development.

In 1985, the JFMS Main expanded its educational services by accepting children who were disadvantaged and underprivileged who come from the nearby depressed areas of Welfareville Compound, City of Mandaluyong.

These school children and youth comprised the biggest number of enrollees.

At present, with the creation of R.A. No. 9155 or the Governance of Basic Education Act of 2001 the school is now under the Supervision of the City Schools of Mandaluyong.

The Jose Fabella Memorial School as it is popularly known today comprises a number of satellite units. They are as follows:

  • Nayon ng Kabataan (NK) Welfareville Compound, Mandaluyong City
  • Bagong Sinag Special School (BSSS), Welfareville Compound, Mandaluyong City
  • Jose Fabella Center (JFC), Welfareville Compound, Mandaluyong City
  • Molave Youth Home (MYH), Quezon City
  • Department of Health Treatment Rehabilitation Center (DOH TRC), Bicutan, Taguig, Metro Manila
  • Create Responsive Infants by Sharing (CRIBS), Antipolo City
  • Special Learning Center (SLC), Quezon City
  • Healing Pathway Foundation, HPF (formerly Dangerous Drugs Board/ DOH-EUTRC), Fairview, Quezon City
  • Elsie Gaches Village (EGV), Alabang, Muntinlupa City
  • National Training School for Girls (NTSG), Alabang, Muntinlupa City
  • HAVEN for Children, Alabang, Muntinlupa City
  • National Training School for Boys (NTSB), Sampaloc, Tanay, Rizal